SCHOLARSHIPS- Study in Australia

November 18th, 2023


Australia offers many scholarships for international students. The grant of scholarship is basically on merit and the students have to demonstrate their eligibility for the scholarship they are applying for. There are no qualifying exams for scholarships in Australia. The only exam which the students may have to take is the IELTS to demonstrate their English language ability.

Australian Awards

The Australian Government has made a range of study and research awards available to candidates in the Asia Pacific region, including India, under the Australian Scholarships Program. Details and applications forms for all awards can be found at .

These awards include:

Australian Leadership Awards (ALA) – for longer-term post-graduate study in Australia at masters or doctoral level. The scheme is competitive and is managed by the Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID). Preference is given to candidates who can demonstrate that they are in a leadership role or have the potential to assume a leadership role.

Awards are open to all fields of study, however, study programs that relate to the priority themes of international trade, pandemics, security and climate change (including clean energy) are encouraged.

Applications for the 2010 ALA intake open on 10 March 2010 and close 30 June 2010 for commencement at an Australian university in January 2011. Application forms and details about the scheme can be found at .

ALA scholarships will be allocated equitably between men and women.

All enquiries should be directed to:
Endeavour Awards

The Endeavour Awards is the Australian Government’s internationally competitive, merit-based scholarship program providing opportunities for citizens of the Asia-Pacific, Middle East, Europe and Americas to undertake study, research and professional development in Australia. Awards are also available for Australians to undertake study, research and professional development abroad.

Endeavour Awards include:

• Endeavour Postgraduate Awards
• Endeavour Australia Cheung Kong Research Fellowships
• Endeavour Research Fellowships
• Endeavour Executive Awards
• Endeavour Vocational Education and Training (VET) Awards

The 2011 round is now open and will close on 31 July 2010.