Oshoala, Nnadozie and Ajibade lead Super Falcons squad for 2024 WAFCON qualifiers (Full List)

November 21st, 2023

The Nigerian Football Federation has announced a 24-player roster for the Super Falcons’ second and final round qualifiers for the 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON).

The 2024 WAFCON will be the 15th edition of the biennial African women’s football tournament organised by the Confederation of African Football and it is scheduled to hold in Morocco.

Notable returns to the squad include Asisat Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade, and Chiamaka Nnadozie, who will represent Nigeria in the double-legged clash against Cape Verde.

Other players listed in the squad are Michelle Alozie, Christy Ucheibe, Toni Payne, Ifeaoma Onumonu, and Gift Monday.

Four home-based players will also be involved, including FC Robo Queens’ Esther Onyenezide, Edo Queens goalkeeper Christiana Obia, Remo Stars defender Akudo Ogbonna, and Bayelsa Queens star Rihanat Kasali.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons are set to take on Cape Verde’s women’s national team in two crucial back-to-back clashes in six days.

The nine-time African champions will host the Cape Verdeans at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, on Thursday, 30th November.

The two teams will then lock horns again in the return leg scheduled to take place in Praia on Tuesday, 5th December.

To reach this stage, Nigeria overcame Tanzania with a 5-1 aggregate victory, drawing the first leg 1-1 in Addis Ababa before securing their spot with a convincing 4-0 win in Abuja.

This two-legged tie will determine which team advances to the next round of the qualifiers.

Full List Of Super Falcons squad for 2024 WAFCON qualifiers

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC), Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia), Christiana Obia (Edo Queens).

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico), Glory Edet (FCF TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens), Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France), Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies), Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France).

Midfielders: Christy Ucheibe (SC Benfica, Portugal), Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens), Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain), Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA), Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain), Jennifer Echegini (Florida State University, USA).

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain), Esther Okoronkwo (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA), Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain).